The Royal Standard was established in 2006 by four Liverpool-based artists in response to the need for a new artist-led organisation that would operate somewhere in between the city’s grass-roots DIY initiatives and the more established arts institutions. Originally housed in a former pub in Toxteth, in 2008 The Royal Standard undertook an ambitious relocation and expansion into a larger industrial space on the Northern periphery of the city centre, relaunching to acclaim for the 2008 Liverpool Biennial. 

The Royal Standard is currently run by a team of four to six directors, with a new team appointed on a two-year rolling basis, enabling the organisation’s ideas and energy to remain fresh and continuing to offer opportunities to new groups of emerging artists.

The current directors of The Royal Standard are Emma Curd, Gregory Herbert, Ashleigh Owen, Charlotte Horn and Maggie Matic

Former Directors are:
Ellie Barrett, Mike Aitkin, James Hedley-Harper, Louis P-A, Amy Jones, Peter Martin, Andy Foulds, Natalie Hughes, Laura Robertson, Sam Venables, Fran Disley, Dave Evans Madeline Hall, Elizabeth Murphy, Lucy MacDonald, Hamish McLain, Jemma Egan, Laurence Payot, Gabriel Stones, Penny Whitehead, Jim Buso, Kevin Hunt, Eleanor Hawkridge, Sean Hawkridge and Paul Luckraft.